Book Reviews, Books

Be My Killer by Richard Parker

34998975

Rating: 3/5


Synopsis: You set the trap. Now you can’t escape.

When an online prank goes viral and triggers a spate of gruesome murders, documentary maker Hazel Salter watches in horror. But then Hazel’s childhood friend, Meredith Hickman, is the next victim and Hazel knows she has to find out what happened to her.

Is it one killer or more? Random acts of violence, or part of a bigger, twisted plan?

The police have no leads, but Hazel has a theory – one she’ll stop at nothing to prove – and she also has a film crew. She’ll make a documentary, catch the killer, and give Meredith justice.

Her stage is the abandoned amusement park where Meredith was found.

Her cast are the family and friends the killer left behind.

And her crew? They keep disappearing, one by one…

A shocking, ‘just-one-more-page’ thriller with the most twisted killer you’ll ever meet. This book will hook you from the first page and keep you guessing long into the night. PERFECT for fans of James Patterson, Mo Hayder, and Chris Carter.


Review:   

This is a fast-paced, action-packed story!

The chapters were quite short and as the suspense builds up, it swiftly becomes challenging to put the book down.

I quite enjoyed the author’s writing style. The plot is very promising and the topics treated in this book are quite relevant. However, the huge turn off for me were the gory scenes and how descriptive and horrific some of them were and even though, I do enjoy a fair amount of horror, that was still too much for me.

Moreover, the various characters that were introduced into this story led to a bit of confusion and made me kind of lose interest when it came down to the characters, most of whom were not likeable or perhaps just not well developed for me to care for.

Overall, this book is not for everyone, definitely wasn’t my cup of tea but I believe, people who’re into the dark kind of horror would manage to enjoy it.

I would like to thank the Publishers, NetGalley, and the Author for sending me an ARC of the book.


Goodreads link: Be My Killer

Amazon link: Be My Killer

Book Reviews, Books

Liar by K.L. Slater

34813902

Rating: 4/5


Synopsis: How far would you go to protect your family?

Single dad Ben is doing his best to raise his children alone, with the help of his devoted mother Judi. Life isn’t easy, but Judi’s family means everything to her and together, they manage.

Then Ben meets Amber. Everyone thinks this is a perfect match for Ben but Judi isn’t sure … there’s just something about Amber that doesn’t add up.

Ben can’t see why his mother dislikes his new girlfriend. And Amber doesn’t want Judi anywhere near her new family. Amber just wants Ben and the children.

The further Judi delves into Amber’s personal life, the closer she gets to shocking secrets that could change everything. And Judi must make a decision that could lead to the most disastrous consequences.


Review:   

“Beware the wolf in sheep’s clothing. Beware the wolf in sheep’s clothing.”

This is a story of revenge, lies, control, possessiveness; sick and twisted people in all their glory.

The writing was utterly-beautiful, which made it easier for me to fly through the pages of this book and even though I knew exactly where the story was heading, I still enjoyed every step of the thrilling journey.

There were hints peppered all over the pages and I had so much fun assembling the missing pieces in order to uncover a canvas of lies, loss, and mental illness.

Some characters were easy to sympathise with, others were just harder to digest, doesn’t mean I did not understand where they were coming from as this was brilliantly highlighted in the book, but they were just twisted beyond beliefs and even though I felt bad for them, it was still quite challenging to look past the pain they’ve inflicted to their ‘loved ones’.

I would definitely recommend “Liar” to anyone looking for a gripping story and a hard-to-put-down-book!

I would like to thank the Publishers, NetGalley, and the Author for sending me an ARC of this book.


Goodreads link: Liar

Amazon link: Liar

Book Reviews, Books

The Honeymoon by Tina Seskis

32708427

Rating: 2/5


Synopsis:  There’s trouble in paradise. . .

For as long as she can remember, Jemma has been planning the perfect honeymoon. A fortnight’s retreat to a five-star resort in the Maldives, complete with luxury villas, personal butlers and absolute privacy. It should be paradise, but it’s turned into a nightmare.

Because the man Jemma married a week ago has just disappeared from the island without a trace. And now her perfect new life is vanishing just as quickly before her eyes. After everything they’ve been through together, how can this be happening? Is there anyone on the island who Jemma can trust? And above all – where has her husband gone?


Review:   

The story starts with the promise of a good thriller but that only lasts for a couple of pages.

The pace is painfully slow and there are a couple of things in the story that do not add up. The mystery keeps building up with an unreliable main character and then when it reaches its climax, it fails to deliver. The worst part was the twist at the end which was quite far-fetched and utterly ridiculous.

In a nutshell, I did not enjoy reading this book. It just wasn’t my cup of tea, I guess!

I would like to thank the Publishers, NetGalley, and the Author for sending me an ARC of this book.


Goodreads link: The Honeymoon

Amazon link: The Honeymoon

Book Reviews, Books

My Sister and Other Liars by Ruth Dugdall

33594749

Rating: 5/5


Synopsis:  Sam is seventeen, starving herself and longing for oblivion. Her sister, Jena, is mentally scarred and desperate to remember. Between them, they share secrets too terrible to recall.

Eighteen months earlier, Sam was still full of hope: hope that she could piece together Jena’s fragmented memory after the vicious attack that changed their family forever. But digging into the past unearthed long-hidden lies and betrayals, and left Sam feeling helpless and alone in a world designed to deceive her.

Now, in a last bid to save her from self-imposed shutdown, Sam’s therapist is helping her confront her memories. But the road to recovery is a dangerous one. Because Sam has not only been lying to her doctors: she’s been hiding dark secrets from herself.


Review:   

This book surpassed all of my expectations!

The final twist is so well done that it managed to catch me off guard and when it all came crashing down, I suddenly realised that I wasn’t quite prepared for the whole truth. The subjects treated in this book are all pretty controversial which gives a dark and twisted tone to the well-executed plot.

This book will break your heart while taking you on a nerve-racking-roller-coaster where you’ll get to meet realistic characters with multiple layers to them, some of which are quite disturbing.

“My Sister and Other Liars” is absolutely and utterly brilliant and I would highly recommend you go grab a copy and get ready for a bloody good ride!

I would like to thank the Publishers, NetGalley, and the author for sending me a digital copy of this book.


Goodreads link: My Sister and Other Liars

Amazon link: My Sister and Other Liars

Book Reviews, Books

Watching You by J.A. Schneider

34621256

Rating: 5/5


Synopsis:  A serial killer texts his victims first. A detective vows revenge. He comes after her.

In the chill of an October night, Detective Kerri Blasco is called to a bizarre murder scene. Leda Winfield, a young volunteer for the homeless, has been shot. Her cell phone displays the frightening text, WATCHING YOU, and into her back, hideously pushed with a hat pin, is a note with the same awful message. Leda’s socialite family and friends insist that no one would have wanted to harm her, but Detective Kerri isn’t convinced.

Until another random young woman is killed in exactly the same way. Kerri and her team profile a monstrous killer who enjoys terrifying his victims before stalking and killing them. But how does he get their phone numbers?

Kerri soon finds that the killer is after her, too, and that the key to finding him may just be in the homeless shelter. When the body count rises, she vows to stop the madman – even if it means battling her own personal trauma, risking her job, her love relationship with her boss Alex Brand, and her life.


Review:   

Enthralling, fast-paced, and twisted aka the best ingredients for a good thriller!

The thrill starts right off the bat and then keeps on building up quite nicely till the big reveal towards the very end of the book. Although I had glimpses inside the twisted mind of the killer, it was still hard to identify the who and the why. The second-guessing and trying to piece everything into a more coherent shape kept my curiosity at its peak and I loved it.

The plot is quite clever to say the least and the characters have all this rather realistic tone to them. All in all, this author surely knows how to engage her audience and keep them entertained and on their toes till the very last page.

I highly recommend this book and I’ll definitely be looking forward to reading more of J.A. Schneider’s work!

I would like to thank the lovely J.A. Schneider for sending me a digital copy of this outstanding thriller.


Goodreads link: Watching You

Amazon link: Watching You