Book Reviews, Books

Lies She Told by Cate Holahan

34064624

Rating: 4/5


Synopsis: Sometimes the truth is darker than fiction.

Liza Jones has thirty days to write the thriller that could put her back on the bestseller list. In the meantime, she’s struggling to start a family with her husband, who is distracted by the disappearance of his best friend, Nick. With stresses weighing down in both her professional and her personal life, Liza escapes into writing her latest heroine.

Beth is a new mother who suspects her husband is cheating on her while she’s home alone providing for their newborn. Angry and betrayed, Beth sets out to catch him in the act and make him pay for shattering the illusion of their perfect life. But before she realizes it, she’s tossing the body of her husband’s mistress into the river.

Then the lines between fiction and reality begin to blur. Nick’s body is dragged from the Hudson and Liza’s husband is arrested for his murder. Before her deadline is up, Liza will have to face up to the truths about the people around her, including herself. If she doesn’t, the end of her heroine’s story could be the end of her own.


Review:   

When the lines between reality and fiction are blurred, it becomes harder to tell which is which.

“I don’t invent my characters. I steal them from my surroundings. To be a writer is to be a life thief. Every day, I rob myself blind.”

The switching between the story and the story within the story was a tad intriguing and I did enjoy it quite a lot. The built-up was rather slow at the beginning and yet I found it surprisingly pleasing as the author was slowly creating the promise of a good story, which she then skilfully delivered. The characters were superbly developed and the plot was rather gripping, with twists and turns peppered at every corner.

This was definitely a good thriller with the right amount of suspense. The fact it has a story within a story might be confusing for some but it is definitely worth a read and I would still recommend it to anyone looking for a suspenseful ride with twists and turns to keep the reader guessing till the very end.

I would like to thank the Publishers, NetGalley, and the Author for sending me an ARC of this book.


Goodreads link: Lies She Told

Amazon link: Lies She Told

2 thoughts on “Lies She Told by Cate Holahan”

  1. Hi Janey,

    The word “Lie” always intrigues me and makes me want to read the book in order to uncover the lies hehe. We have a lot in common!

    Stay awesome Xoxoxo

  2. I’m sensing a theme: you read a lot of books with “lie” in the title, Hajar. I have to admit they appeal to me too!

Leave a Reply

