Book Reviews, Books

The Council by Kayla Krantz

33228838

Rating: 5/5


Synopsis: The Council is the governing Coven over the Land of Five, a region entirely inhabited—and split apart—by witches with varying powers. Lilith Lace, a witch thought to be born powerless, happily resides in Ignis, the Coven of Fire, until she suddenly develops telekinesis, an ability only seen in some witches born in Mentis, the Coven of the Mind. When The Council finds out about her odd development, she’s taken under their wing and is finally told the truth—everything she’s learned about the Land of Five, herself included, have been nothing but lies.


Review: 

“Expect the unexpected.”

I genuinely could not put this book down, not only because of the endless stream of suspense and mystery it has to offer but also because once you step into the Land of Five, you wouldn’t want to leave, not before you get all of the answers.

This story follows a witch named Lilith Lace in her quest of truth after suspecting that her whole life might be nothing but a well thorny lie.

“The story you’ve told me my entire life has been a lie!”

Lilith developed quite the huddle of insecurities since her early years, mainly due to her “accident”. She grew up with so many blank spaces, purposely, left unfilled and as the story starts to unfold, she becomes even more confused to the point where she realises she cannot trust anyone; lies, hidden truths, deception, manipulation, false hopes, existential crisis alert.

“From what I can tell, she’s offering me more cryptic phrases with a depth to them that even the top-ranked philosophers would have a difficult time decoding.”

The magical world of “The Council” is too well described to the point where I felt like I  was swiftly transported right into the Land of Five, gazing upon the interesting characters of this engaging story. I also quite enjoyed following Lilith in her life-changing journey and as I analysed her deepest thoughts, I couldn’t help but wonder, divide and conquer, is it really worth it? And what if it’s better to unite for the benefit of all?

I cannot wait for the other books in this trilogy to come out because I am sure they will be worth a read or two or even ten! Kayla Krantz is now officially one of my favourite writers and I would like to thank her for sending me a copy of this beautiful book of hers, I will definitely be looking forward to reading more of her work!

I would recommend this book to everyone looking for an engaging story tinted with magic, a touch of mystery, and a ripple of suspense. Happy reading everyone!


Goodreads link: The Council

Amazon link: The Council

1 thought on “The Council by Kayla Krantz”

Leave a Reply

