Book Reviews, Books

Start Over by J. Saman

32319299

Rating: 5/5


Synopsis: I like to play by the rules. But when I get coaxed into crashing a party, I run into the last man I ever thought I’d see again, my one and only one-night stand, Luke Walker. It’s been ten years since we’ve seen each other, but our chemistry is just as palpable as it was that night so long ago. Only problem is, I’m leaving in one month for a pediatric fellowship across the country.

I like to keep everything close to my chest. But when I see Ivy Green again, the woman I was never able to get out of my mind, I want her. It doesn’t matter that my dark past and dangerous present mean I can’t keep her. That my secrets would destroy any shot at a real future. After all, she’s leaving in a month. What’s the worst that could happen?


Review: This book got me hooked from the very first pages, not only because it is the definition of a page turner but also because I was growing curiouser and curiouser, craving to uncover more and more of the untold secrets and hidden truths and see how this roller-coaster of a love story will unfold.

Ivy Green (it’s probably meant to be ironic because Ivy is green; see what the author did there?) and Luke Walker had a mind-blowing-one-night-stand that, in different circumstances, could’ve led to a beautiful love story. Ten Years later, their paths cross once more and the temptation of picking up where they have left is getting harder to resist, however they know it’s not a good idea, not at all, especially since Ivy will be leaving to Boston in a month for a pediatric fellowship. Will they give their hearts a chance, ignoring all the facts, secrets, and half-truths? Is the idea of a future together a possibility or just a mirage they ought to snap out of?

“She’s different and we could be something different together. Something astounding. Something you encounter once in a lifetime, if that.”

I really enjoyed the story being told by the two main characters because we get to contemplate their unspoken words and myriads of complicated thoughts. Also, when a story is told by two people, sometimes it can get confusing but not in this book. This story is just flowing and there wasn’t a moment, I felt like I wanted to put the book down. The characters are all quite likeable and Claire is just hilarious; I would love to encounter her in a future book!

“Start Over” will make you smile and laugh while slowly breaking your heart into a million pieces so read at your own risk.

In a nutshell, this was a great contemporary romance novel and I would like to thank the lovely J. Saman for sending me a copy. I will definitely be looking forward to reading more of her work!


Goodreads link: Start Over

Amazon link: Start Over

Leave a Reply

